Home » Awards » Abigail Anderson Award

Abigail Anderson Award

Abigail Anderson is an outstanding Quebec educator and pedagogue. She began her career as a high school ELA teacher and replaced Marjorie Gawley as the Coordinator of ELA Programmes at Quebec’s Ministry of Education. In the twenty seven years that she held that position, she used her networking skills and intuition to set up a community of teachers to make classroom knowledge and practice valued and shared. She has always believed in the grassroots power of teachers working together, of transparency in terms of the policy and protocol at the Ministry, and of the importance of encouraging professionalism in teaching: whether it be to read professional books, to attend conferences, and/or to be involved with ATEQ or other committees at the school or provincial level. According to Ms. Anderson, the professionalism of teachers is defined by their commitment to their students and their professional growth and development. To that end, she has guided teachers in the development of the Teachers Teaching Teachers series, spearheaded numerous classroom-based projects around the province such as The Rainbow of Dream series, supported the educational programmes offered by Blue Metropolis and, most importantly, directed a team and collaborated with them to produce the three ELA programmes for the QEP as well as the the Progressions of Learning, cited for their excellence by the Superior Council of Education.

This award goes to an individual teacher or a group of teachers for an outstanding contribution to the field of English Language Arts in Quebec. The individual or group may not be particularly well known, but may have been working quietly and steadily to encourage different facets of English Language Arts education. We invite you to make these efforts known so that those individuals directly involved may be recognized and honoured. 

    Information about the nominee

    Information about the nominator