Skip to content
Home » Awards


Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination for the 2022-2023 ATEQ awards! We’ll be getting in touch soon.

Do you know an outstanding educator or student teacher who is a great leader, pedagogue or ELA advocate? We are currently accepting nominations for our three annual awards:

The Marjorie Gawley award is awarded to a pre-service teacher in the final year of a teacher certification program. There are two bursaries available, each of $500; typically, one bursary is awarded at the primary (K-6) level and the other at the secondary level.

The Abigail Anderson award is awarded to an individual teacher or a group of teachers for an outstanding contribution to the field of English Language Arts in Quebec

The John Gaw award is awarded to an outstanding English Language Arts Educator in Quebec who exhibits leadership qualities

The deadline for this year’s nominations is Sunday, April 30th.

Congratulations to our 2021-2022 award winners:

ATEQ believes in recognizing teachers and educators for their excellent work and dedication to the profession, as well as pre-service teachers who distinguish themselves during their final year of study. Each award has its own criteria: please read carefully, and then don’t be shy to nominate someone great! The ATEQ Executive Committee reviews all nominations in order to determine the winner(s) for each award. See below for a list of previous honorees.

(Formerly known as the ATEQ Award)

  • 2022 – Jessica Hand and Lise Kuhn (EMSB)
  • 2010 – Kathleen Dearhouse
  • 2009 – Michael Ernest Sweet (LBPSB)
  • 2008 – Kevin Wright (RSB)
  • 2007 – Anne Lemay (CQSB)
  • 2022 – Colin Throness (EMSB)
  • 2016 – Terry Saba (EMSB)
  • 2015 – Kathy Napier (ETSB)
  • 2010 – Anne Doucet (MEQ)
  • 2006 – Abigail Anderson (MEQ)
  • 2022 – Zelia Carnevale (McGill, HS)
  • 2017 – Andrea Varghese (McGill, HS)
  • 2017 – Nathalie Pepiot (McGill, HS)
  • 2016 – Pamela Bussey (McGill, HS)